Grocery Stores Are Responsible For Archie

Grocery stores are the only reason I have any idea what Archie is. Probably Richie Rich too. I’ve thought about this and I’m firmly convinced that I wouldn’t even know these comics otherwise.

Remember the impulse buy aisles at grocery stores? Candy, magazines, comics and such. Ever present, at least as I remember it, are comics such as Archie and Richie Rich.

Did I like these comics? No, they were garbage as far as I was concerned. The plots were all crap, the art was terrible (due at least in part to the awful printing used), and almost everything had been recycled about a billion times. Even if I’d wanted to read them, I could have probably had it all from one year because it would just be reused in the next. But…did I pester my parents to buy them? Yes.

I wanted comics. We walked by these ones all the time. As such, I was conned into thinking I wanted them. I them attempted to con my parents, sometimes successfully. I even read them when I got them.

Yet, I still didn’t want them. They were awful. The only reason I got them is because they were in the impulse buy aisle and nothing else better was there.

I firmly believe that the grocery store impulse buy aisle is the only reason I ever read Archie and Richie Rich. If there had been anything decent in that aisle I never would have pesetered my parents to buy either. God knows I never would have gone out of my way to get them. We need grocery store impulse buy aisle reform.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grocery Stores Are Responsible For Archie

  1. Czuch says:

    I buy Women’s Day now for the exact same reason.

Leave a Reply

