You Know What I Just Remembered About “Short Circuit?” The Racism.

I posted an exchange between my wife and myself the other night where she was talking about buying some chairs for the new house. She mentioned that we could just put them in our storage unit because they came disassembled and I immediately screamed: “No disassemble, Stephanie!” I got a lot of likes on that post, because almost everyone I know remembers Short Circuit.

I got to thinking about that. Then I got to thinking about what many people don’t seem to remember about Short Circuit: the racism. RememberFisher Stevens’s portrayal of Ben Jabituya?

An actor can portray someone of another race with no problems, but this wasn’t just that. This was pretty racist. I’m sure some other people remember and talk about this, and I don’t think either Fisher or the movie makers were setting out to make a racist portrayal, but this is racist. Just take a look:

I’m betting a lot of people who remember this movie fondly overlook that part.

 

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You Know What I Just Remembered About “Short Circuit?” The Racism.

  1. Lx says:

    Nah, I remember it. But Fisher redeemed himself a bit later w/that short-lived series on Fox called “Key West.” Does ANYONE but me remember that?

    • Don’t remember it off the top of my head, though that doesn’t necessarily mean I didn’t watch it. He was good in “Hackers.” I’m sure the guy didn’t think about how racist this character was going to be, and was probably just doing what he was told the role involved. That doesn’t change the character, but at least I don’t think he did this intentionally.

Leave a Reply

