What The Heck Is Neuroleadership?

I keep seeing these ads for a respected business school in my area that mention how people can focus in “neuroleadership.” I don’t know what the heck it is, but it sounds like bullcrap.

I looked up the word, but I’m not sure that helped any. It still kind of sounded like bullcrap, or possibly a legitimate area of study wrapped up so heavily in buzzwords that it’s indistinguishable from bullcrap.

You know what it made me think of? I imagined micromanagement on an entirely unheard of scale: direct micromanagement of neurons. More sodium! Less potasium! Transmit that signal down the axon! I could actually imagine someone wanting to do that, management thorugh direct brain control.

I’m sure that’s not what it is (I didn’t really feel like even looking that hard at the page I linked to above). I’m sure it’s something trying to make management more scientific by linking management concepts to neuroscience principles.

Still, it sounds like bullcrap.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

