I Wish My Bank Had Better Fraud Prevention Handling

I wish my bank handled fraud prevention a little better. I probably shouldn’t reveal who my bank is, so I won’t. That prevents me from calling them out on this a little, but I still want to complain so I will do so.

My debit card got declined recently. I guessed that a fraud alert had popped up on my account. Eventually I confirmed and fixed this, but my bank was less than helpful.

For example, my bank didn’t call me. They didn’t call, text, leave a message, email, or anything. They just put a fraud alert on my card and waited for me to figure it out and call them. This is not the first time they have done this.

So, I call. I enter my account number and several pieces of verifying information. Eventually, I get a person on the line who has me provide my account number and several pieces of verifying information. This person confirms there is a fraud alert. However, they cannot help me. They have to transfer me to someone. This transferred someone has me provide my account number and several pieces of verifying information before confirming that there is a fraud alert. However, the transferred person also can’t fix it. They have to transfer me to an automated system. The automated system also has me provide my account number and several pieces of verifying information. Finally, the automated system has me confirm my last three transactions and lifts the hold.

Guess what? The original person confirms that the hold was put on because I authorized a purchase at a gas pump and then went inside to buy something.

Really? Given how many gas stations require you to pay first if you don’t pay at the pump, is that really so rare? Is this a signal for fraud that I wanted a soda in addition to gas and didn’t want to go in to get the soda and pay for gas at the same time when I didn’t yet know how much gas I needed? Really?

I wouldn’t even mind, if I didn’t have to sit on the phone for twenty minutes as I was transferred between three different entities who each needed me to provide the same information. Or, if my bank actually bothered to tell me.

Mind you, one of my other financial providers sends me an email when an alert pops up. I can confirm from the email whether the transaction was correct or not. Not only do they actually notify me of a potential issue, they let me take care of it easily if it isn’t anything.

Nice, unlike my bank.

Anyway, I’m just whining. I’d call them out on it specifically if it wouldn’t probably be a bad idea to publicize where I bank. Also, I doubt they listen. Most other standard banks are probably antiquated on this too. Even switching probably wouldn’t help.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

