I Love The Billy Bookcase At IKEA

I just want to say that I love the Billy bookcase at IKEA:

I have a lot of books. Somwhere between 1000-2000 (I haven’t counted recently). I never buy really nice shelves because I want the most room for books and want to spend most of my money on books. For years, I’ve been buying the 5 shelf bookshelves at Walmart or Target.

However, these shelves have increasingly sucked over the years. The particle board has been getting flimsier and flimsier, and the attachment mechanisms have been getting cheaper and cheaper. We won’t even discuss the instructions.

Seriously, the last ones I bought at both Walmart and Target had the main sides come in two pieces that attached together by dowels or plastic pieces, and not even securely. They would barely hold together, and two broke recently when I tried to move them completely empty. I was done.

But the Billy? I just put my first one together and love it. THe sides are actually one piece, so much stronger. The wood is better. The attachment mechanisms are better. Even the instructions are better. The whole thing is better. It even is a bit taller, having one more shelf while still fitting under the standard ceiling height. I won’t ever buy the ones at Target or Walmart anymore.

Is it more expensive than the ones at Target or Walmart? I think so. I can’t find the one at Target any more. They may have gotten so crappy that Target stopped carrying any to avoid the bad press. Walmart still appears to sell some for $40 or so, but the extra $40 is well worth it.

I’m not going back. I have too many books to do otherwise.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

