I Just Mowed My Lawn With A Weed Whacker

I just mowed my lawn with a weed whacker.

Well, I tried to any way. We’ll see whether the wife thinks I managed to do it or not. I may update you with what she thinks, but I may not. It depends how favorably it reflects upon me.

I only have a total area of grass of about 20 feet by 2 feet. I’m heavily guestimating here, as I’m too lazy to go out and measure. We just moved into a new house recently and one of the big features for me was the tiny lawn. The houses are still six feet apart, but tiny amounts of lawn. Coming from a town home, this is still cool.

Of course, at the town home I didn’t have to maintain the yard at all. That was another unit; my unit’s responsibility was water. I haven’t had to take care of a lawn for 9 years, since I lived in Omaha. That yard was huge, and took around 3 hours to mow around two times a week.

I hated it.

Here, the developer’s rep suggested just using a weed whacker. I’ve tried it once so far and it didn’t seem to go too bad. We’ll see if it works long term. I got a cordless one and found out that trying to use it as a mower is a bit more than the battery was intended for. Had to stop partway and recharge it once to finish. Still, not too bad.

Heck, it beats mowing a full size yard with a normal mower. I’ll take it.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Just Mowed My Lawn With A Weed Whacker

  1. JeremyMorong says:

    Those old-fashioned reel mowers work very well on small lawns and are completely quiet. I used one on my old mid-sized lawn before we moved. So if you get tired of weed whacking, there’s your next step. Related, I really miss that lawn… 😦

    • Turns out, I don’t even have to mow the long section by the curb. The HOA does that. I just have to do the two short sections by the house. Given that they’re only two feet deep, a mower really doesn’t make sense. Half the area is edging and a mower just couldn’t get it well.

Leave a Reply

