Why Do I Care About The Triple Crown?

Why do I suddenly find myself caring about the Triple Crown? Everybody is talking about how American Pharoah would win the Triple Crown if he wins the Belmont Stakes on Saturday. People seem really concerned, and I have to admit that I’m excited by the prospect myself.

But why? I recognize that there is no reason I should care. I don’t give a crap about horse racing. The only time I ever hear about horse racing is when people have Derby parties or a horse might win the Triple Crown. Why does the possibility of a Triple Crown winner excite me or any of the other people who don’t follow horse racing but still find themselves caring.

Maybe it’s because it’s such a rare event. There have only been 11 Triple Crown winners…and not one for 37 years. I was less than two the last time.

Maybe it’s also because of the news coverage. It’s hard not to get excited when you keep hearing the news scream TRIPLE CROWN! TRIPLE CROWN! TRIPLE CROWN!

Regardless, I don’t really care…but the prospect still piques my interest. I hope American Pharoah wins. I don’t know why, but I do.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

