It Still Seems Weird People Are Surprised I Wrote A Child Narrated Book And Don’t Have Kids

When I sat down to write Bones Buried in the Dirt, I never questioned that it needed to be told with a child narrator. However, one of the most common questions I’ve been asked by people who read it is how many kids I have. The people who ask are usually surprised when I say none.

I can understand a little bit. After all, how did I get the voice right (hopefully I did, I certainly think so and quite a few of the people who have commented on the book seemed to think so)? Still…wasn’t I a kid? Even if I don’t have any of my own, aren’t most of us in contact with kids every day?

I just imagined. I remembered things I’d observed that would help with the voice and used them. Most important for me, I read the text back, in my head and aloud, and listened to try to see if anything sounded false.

I think it worked.

Many authors write characters vastly different from themselves, or at least themselves in their current states. Many aren’t around people like their characters on a daily basis. You either pull it off or keep trying, in my view.

I certainly wasn’t going to have children only for the sake of trying to make the book work.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

