Whining About Facebook Birthday Reminders

I know I should remember all my friends’ birthdays. I don’t, though. I barely remember my own birthday. It’s crass to admit it, but I’ve gotten a lot better about at least contacting people on their birthday to wish them well since Facebook started giving me reminders. Some might think this shows a lack of engagement on my part, but I just have a lousy memory for birthdays.

So maybe I’m not the best person.

Anyway, these are helpful to me. It’s nice to have the reminder pop up, and stay there until I reach out for contact. However, once I contact, I do want them to go away. After all, it’s annoying to have to check because I think I’ve acted on the reminder and perhaps for some reason Facebook is presenting it again.

It does this.

It shouldn’t. It’s supposed to clear the reminders once I act on them. For the most part it does. However, occasionally Facebook will decide when I go from device to device that I didn’t act on one or more of the reminders and present them again. Sometimes just later in the day on the same device. Sometimes Facebook thinks I’ve already responded to one or more, but not all.

Even though I did.

I have no idea why Facebook has somewhat of a problem keeping track throughout the day which ones I’ve responded to and which I haven’t, especially across devices. I just know it happens, and it undermines the usefulness of the reminders. I wish I would only be presented reminders for birthdays I hadn’t yet responded to.

And, then there are the people whose birthdays pop up but have their accounts configured so I can’t write on their wall. That’s fine…but I wish Facebook had a way to clear the reminder in that case. They suggest sending a private message, which I sometimes do. I sometimes also just put my birthday wishes in a thread already on their wall. Many other people do this too. However, there is no way to clear these reminders in either of these cases. I’ve responded, but birthday reminders will then stay up the entire day.

Why doesn’t Facebook have a way to clear them manually? No ‘X’ to close?

This is all silly, and whiny, but it’s something that annoys me and I felt like putting this out there on the remote chance Facebook might someday care what users think. There’s also a chance I just needed something to talk about in a post today and picked this.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

