Cue Everyone To Start Freaking Out

Well, Go Set a Watchman, Harper Lee’s To Kill a Mockingbird sequel has finally dropped. Cue everyone to start freaking out.

Specifically, cue a bunch of people to take this way more seriously than a book deserves. Cue a bunch of people to forget that this is a separate book and thus only affects To Kill a Mockingbird when the books are considered together, which doesn’t have to happen with a book. Cue everyone to decide what Harper Lee should and/or shouldn’t have written.

Cue a bunch of people to not step back and take a breath, remembering to put this into perspective.

Am I curious? Yes. Am I going to read it regardless of any of this? Yes. Am I freaking out about it or any of the sundry and possibly sordid things I’ve heard? Not really. It’s still just a book. A long awaited book, but just a book nonetheless.

I just don’t plan to get that worked up about it. Seems like a waste of energy to me, and pointless. I may get more worked up when I read it, but I’m certainly not working myself up right now.

Regardless, I can always pretend it’s just fan fiction the way I do with the newest Star Wars movies and the two Matrix sequels.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

