Amazon PrimePantry Is Driving Me Away From Amazon

My wife has our car out of town right now and I needed a few household things so I decided to look at Amazon to see about getting those things delivered. I encountered something I hadn’t seen before, something called PrimePantry. That was really annoying.

PrimePantry is apparently deals exclusively for Amazon Prime members. I understand what the goal is here, exclusive deals to promote Prime membership. They don’t want to just show them to Prime members because they want non-Prime members to sign up.

However, they nearly drove me away from the site entirely.

After all, there was no way that I could figure out to screen out the PrimePantry results. There were so many PrimePantry results that I couldn’t see stuff I could actually buy. It looked like there wasn’t anything I could.

I wasn’t going to sign up for Prime.

I understand wanting to drive Prime membership, but shouldn’t they stop short of making the site impossible or at least highly difficult to use for non-Prime members? They want to be a one stop shop for more than just books (and I buy from independents unless I can only get something from Amazon in general anyway), should they make it so I can’t find anything to buy?

I tell you, I started looking at other sites. Pushing prime is one thing, but making it so I can’t find anything to buy is another.

They might want to rethink that. At least present the PrimePantry deals and then let me screen those out so I can find something to buy in case I’m still not sold on Prime.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

