Was Packing Material Necessary?

Dear Petsmart: Was it really necessary to package the litter I ordered in boxes with packing material?

My wife has our car out of town right now and I decided I needed some more cat litter. We have four cats, so we can go through quite a bit of litter. The bags we buy are forty pounds each, and I wanted three. Trying to get these without having them shipped was going to be problematic.

So, I ordered online. Found a sale so even with shipping it was only a few dollars per bag more than normal. That was cool. We usually go to Petco, but they didn’t ship big bags of litter. Petsmart did. I figured they’d use UPS as opposed to the post office, which was good. Forty pound bags of litter wouldn’t fit in the boxes at our mailbox station and I probably would have been told to come pick them up at the post office. I would have been no better off than getting it from the store myself. UPS would drop off on our porch.

I didn’t think anyone would steal three forty pound sacks of litter.

So this was all there when I got home. Each bag was individually boxed. Eached was packed with a bunch of packing paper.

Cat litter is not particularly fragile, just in case you didn’t know.

It seemed silly, and wasteful, but maybe there was at least some reason. I suppose they had to box it so that the little bags didn’t get cut open in shipment. Also made it easier to stack in a truck, I suppose. I also suppose they couldn’t have the bags moving around in the boxes, and it would have been too heavy to put multiple bags in a single box.

All in all it probably wasn’t that weird…but it seemed odd when I first opened it.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

