The Cats Are Messing With Me

My cats are messing with me.

My wife has been out of town for a bit so my house has been pretty quiet. I’m the only one here, other than four cats. However, other than various kinds of “meows,” cats only make so much noise. Usually.

I’ve been reading late at night in the quiet and suddenly jumped when I heard something that sounded like a “BAWOOOOONNNNGGGGG!!!!!!!” somewhere in the house. For a second, I thought there was someone else in the house. Of course, there wasn’t. What had happened was that one of the cats had gotten bored and flicked one of the many spring door stops in the house.

They startled me (being an unexpected, non-cat type for the most part noise), and startled themselves. They do this, get startled at the noise, and then come running into the room where I am, looking around wildly like an intruder has just revealed himself/herself/itself. They know what this is though, and what it does when they flick it. They just wait until it’s really quiet to do it in order to mess with me.

It’s happened a few times.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Cats Are Messing With Me

  1. Jessica McConnachie says:

    You just made my day. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

