I Really Should Have Known That Case Of Nissin Cup Noodles Would Take Forever

I posted yesterday how I finally finished a case of Nissin Cup Noodles that I’d bought back in 2007. Looking back on it, I have no idea why I didn’t realize that it would take me so long. After all, the things are basically ramen noodles.

I’m pretty sick of ramen noodles.

After all, when first living on my own, I ate an awful lot of ramen noodles. For somewhere between three and six months, my food budget was about $30-50. I’d buy a case of ramen, a ten pound sack of potatoes, and some Mountain Dew. Sometimes I’d buy some dry black eyed peas to toss in with the ramen, though I don’t know why since I was too lazy to properly soak them overnight first.

I ate a lot of ramen. Daily, if not multiple times a day. Ramen and potatoes, that was pretty much it on a daily basis.

I got really sick of ramen.

Later, I saw the Cup Noodles. Those were great! Right? Much better than ramen. They had little dried carrots, peas, and corn that would get re-hydrated when you cooked. Much better.

Yeah, they pretty much are the same thing. Different package, perhaps slightly different noodles. The dried carrots, peas, and corn? There’s only a sprinkling. It’s just not that much different. One once in a long while and I can dig it, not notice how much like ramen they are. More than once a year? Oh, that I notice.

I’m really glad those things are gone…and I really should have known better.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

