Verizon Just Made It That Much Less Likely That I’d Ever Switch To Them

Well, Verizon just made it that much less likely that I’d ever switch to them. They’re nixing phone subsidies. I’ve always had a thing against them since they sued 2600 over insulting Verizon domain names, and I’ve heard a lot of horror stories from Verizon customer friends anyway, but this just makes it even less likely I’d ever switch to them.

Them phones are expensive.

I know that this appears to be the way carriers are going. They don’t want to pay for the phones any more. I’ve been with the same carrier for 13 years, so contracts have never bugged me. I can see why carriers might think the subsidies for contracts might not be worth it any more. I wasn’t just staying for the contract.

But, then again, it did help. My carrier here went through a terrible network time for a while. They had 4G coverage here pretty early on. Then it all disappeared and we weren’t going to have 4G for forever. The 3G was getting pretty overloaded for data, and things only got worse as the 4G went in. It was almost impossible to use the phone for a month or so there.

If I hadn’t been under contract, I might have left. I might have even gone to Verizon.

Since I was under contract though, I gave my carrier until then to fix the situation…and they actually did. Things got much, much better.

So why would I ever switch to Verizon if I wasn’t getting a phone discount out of the deal? I compared plans, and Verizon was more expensive. The network used to be better for Verizon in my town, but my carrier seems to have come up to speed. I’ve also heard some pretty bad horror stories from Verizon customer friends. I’m sure all carriers are equally bad for some of that, but it certainly doesn’t help Verizon’s case any.

So why?

It just looks even less likely than ever before. All carriers will probably go that way eventually, but any that remain will certainly look more attractive to me. Even if the whole market goes that way, I’ll probably just start going longer between replacing phones. I used to keep the same one for five or more years.

I can do it again.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

