It’s Weird When It’s No One’s Birthday

Facebook has me pretty used to wishing people happy birthday on a regular basis. Say what you want about it, but with my memory it helps. I practically use it to remember my birthday, and I like to at least say a little something when someone’s birthday occurs. I’ve gotten so used to this that I get confused when it isn’t someone’s birthday.

I mean, there are only 365 days a year (ignore leap year). I’m currently at 932 Facebook friends, so the chances of a birthday being on a given day are pretty good. Some people don’t list their birthdays on Facebook so I don’t get a reminder, and sometimes there can be five or six on a single day, but sometimes there just aren’t any. It’s blank.

I always think Facebook has screwed up at that point.

Seriously, I’ve gotten so used to wishing people birthdays first thing in the morning when I check Facebook that I can’t believe it when there isn’t a reminder in that part of the page. I’m sure Facebook has done something wrong so I have to check my event calendar. Sure enough each time, there’s nothing on that page.

It’s simply weird. I can’t quite accept that there can be a day without at least one birthday listed out of everyone I interact with on Facebook. It feels kind of naked.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

