Please Tell Me The People Who Think They Won’t Be Able To Find Stuff At Target Are Kidding

Please, please tell me that the people who think they won’t be able to find stuff at Target aren’t serious. I’m talking about the announcement that Target plans to phase out the gender signs for things like toys. No more signs indicating boys toys or girls toys. There are some people upset about this, as I imagined there would be, but from the little I’ve looked some actually seem to think it will be harder to find stuff.

I can understand people who want to defend gender stereotypes. I don’t agree with them, but I understand. They want boys to have trucks and soldiers and girls to have dolls. I think it’s crap, but I understand. These are the people who I imagined being upset at this, this being a recognition that these distinctions were arbitrary in the first place and we don’t have to live our lives by them.

But the people who seem to think they won’t be able to navigate the toy aisle without a boys or a girls sign? Even if you think Transformers are only for boys, could you not find them without a boys toys sign? They’re getting rid of signs, not throwing all the toys into a big pot you have to sift through. If you have a stereotype you want to maintain, it won’t be any harder. You just won’t have a sign. I bet all the Gi-Joe’s will still be together.

This just isn’t that hard.

This is really baffling me. I knew people were going to be upset and all the power in the world to them. It’s just that some of the reasons they’re getting upset make my head hurt. Seriously, my medulla oblongata is trying to chew off my spinal cord to get the sensory input to stop.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

