Pizza Place Portions Me Out

My wife and I were in NYC recently and we stopped at a pizza place for lunch. It was rated highly, but I didn’t end up being able to try any. They actually portioned me out.

Pizzas were only $23. That felt really fair, particularly for something that could be split between two people. That seemed the intention, given that most of their tables were set up for two. However, the pizza was sized for four or five.

Seriously, this thing was an entire baking pan. Full sized. Home as opposed to restaurant grade baking pan, but still. It was huge. That was the smallest pizza you could get.

I had a soda.

The pizza was so immense, I just couldn’t order. This was lunch, and I wouldn’t be where I could refrigerate any leftovers for at least 10 hours. What was I supposed to do? My wife and I could have eaten a fifth, maybe a fourth of it. That amount would have still felt fair for $23, but I couldn’t stomach the idea of wasting that much food. Since I couldn’t order less, I passed. My wife ordered a sandwich instead, the only other offering they had. It was still at least a two person sandwich. Their prices were reasonable, but their portions were way over huge.

Why do that? Sure, some people may be impressed by portion size, but some people like me would actually end up getting driven off by it. This was lunch, I didn’t see anyone managing to eat the whole thing. Is that perceived as value for them? I seriously think they could have served a pizza the fraction of the size at the same price and still have been perceived to be offering the same value.

It was just too much. So much that they actually lost a sale over it.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

