Some Denver Restaurants Are Too Popular To Frequent

Denver is a really hot city right now. The population is booming. That can be a good thing, but it can be bad as well. There are some good places to eat here, but some of them can get so popular that one might as well not go. Sometimes it’s because you just can’t get in. Other times it impacts quality. Devil’s Food Bakery & Cookery is a perfect example.

My wife and I went there for Sunday brunch recently. We’ve been before and like it a great deal. The food is well made, made using good food, and is definitely a chef type creation as opposed to just using cooks. We knew it was going to be crowded and that the crowd would impact service. Still, I think the crowd has gotten to the point that quality was impacted and we might not eat there again. It just isn’t working.

For example, my wife got chicken and waffles and I got a pancake as part of our order. It took a long time to be seated and to get food, but that was all cool. We expected that. What I didn’t expect was that the crowds impacted the service to the point that the gravy on my wife’s waffles had turned them completely soggy and my pancake was ice cold. Due to the crowds, they just couldn’t get the food to us in a timely enough fashion that it was still good.

I still ate my pancake, but it wasn’t very good. My wife skipped the waffles entirely.

Do I think they did something wrong? No. It was just that crowded and they couldn’t help it. However, the time it took between cooking and when they could get the food to us really ruined those items of the meal. It just isn’t worth going when those are the circumstances. It’s no good trying for food that good when the situation makes it so that the food isn’t as good any more.

It isn’t their fault, but it just isn’t worth it. I would rather have gotten a breakfast sandwich at McDonald’s.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

