Why Not Buy A Hot Dog?

I needed to pick something up from the convenient store by my work. On my way in, a guy on the corner who was homeless and trying to raise a little money asked: “Hey, maybe grab me a hot dog?” I don’t know if he was completely serious, but I was sure he could use the hot dog. Standing in line, I though: Why not? Why not buy the hot dog?

After all, I was already at the counter buying things. The hot dogs were right there. All I had to do was ask for it and then hand it to the guy on my way out. I was sure he could use the meal, and it was only $2. I was buying $40 worth of stuff anyway. I wouldn’t even need to run an additional transaction.

It gets so hard to keep up with downtown. I donate money from time to time, but there are so many people who need help down here. I rarely even carry actual money, doing most of my donations online, so you get kind of hardened to it. I rarely have anything to hand over.

But a hot dog? I could do that. It wasn’t even that much effort. I just had to overcome the inertia of not doing anything and do just a tiny, few things. Such a small thing to make some kind of a difference.

I bought the hot dog.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

