Trying To Decide How Upset At Expedia I Still Am

I’m trying to figure out how upset at Expedia I still am. They’ve at least somewhat fixed their error, but it was still a huge hassle and I’m left still feeling uncertain about whether or not something else might go wrong. Even fixed, it was still an unpleasant experience.

Let me explain.

The wife and I booked a package trip on Expedia to go out of the country. The package was to cover a set of dates and include flights, shuttle, and a stay at an all inclusive resort. If the problem was evident in anything while booking, we certainly didn’t see it. It definitely wasn’t in the confirmation emails they sent. However, my wife luckily viewed the booked trip on the mobile app. That’s when we saw that the flights they’d booked us didn’t match the hotel stay.

They had us checking into our hotel a day after we arrived in the foreign country.

As it turned out, the Expedia site had a glitch. When it pulled together a package, it erroneously pulled it together with a hotel portion that was one day short. This caused it to be cheaper than it should be, and certainly caused problems. When we called about the problem, Expedia explained the error. They told us we needed to pay $441 more for the additional night to fix the package to what we had originally been offered. Otherwise, they told us we could cancel and rebook, which would also be more expensive because flights and hotels had gone up.

Now, I know the glitch resulted in a price that was cheaper than it should have been, but they offered us the package for a particular price. Regardless if that was cheaper because of a glitch, it’s what they offered. If the glitch was their fault, it was on their shoulders to fix.

We demanded to speak to a supervisor. The supervisor was already familiar with the situation. Clearly, other people had called. She said she could fix this by charging us for the extra night and refunding it. That was cool, it fixed the error.

However, I still have to wait for the refund to show. The way credit cards work, authorizations are immediate and refunds can take a while. Also, we had to deal with the unpleasantness of this happening at all. That doesn’t even get into the fact that Expedia was aware of this error and never contacted us. Nothing in the emails they sent revealed the problem and they waited for us to notice on our own. What if we hadn’t gone onto the app and seen the problem before we arrived in the foreign country?

No, I appreciate that I managed to get the trip cheaper than I should have (at the price they originally offered despite their mistake). I appreciate that they fixed it. I don’t appreciate having to watch my credit card to be sure the refund posts. I don’t appreciate having to have a half hour to hour phone call in order to have this fixed. I don’t appreciate them not telling me and waiting for me to notice. I don’t appreciate how uncertain this makes me feel about whether or not something else might go wrong with the arrangements. I don’t appreciate the nasty feel this leaves over the whole vacation, even if it might all work out fine.

I just would have appreciated it if buying a trip package through them had been less problematic. I’m not as mad as if they hadn’t fixed the problem, but I’m still upset that something happened at all. I want to be able to trust them that something like this won’t ever happen. It makes me nervous to use their service.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

