Food Service Leads To New Links Between Songs

When you work in food service, you tend to hear a lot of the same songs. At least, this is the case where the food establishment uses some kind of music service. I worked at a place like that and we tended to hear the same songs over and over again. We only had certain CDs to choose from, after all. Trust me, we tried burning our own in all kinds of formats to get around it. No dice. Repetition was our only choice.

This can lead to some odd thoughts. At one point, one of my coworkers had an epiphany. “My Life” by Billy Joel was playing, as it often did. The refrain runs:

I don’t need you to worry for me cause I’m alright
I don’t want you to tell me it’s time to come home
I don’t care what you say anymore, this is my life
Go ahead with your own life and leave me alone

All of a sudden, my coworker screamed: “It’s Nigel! That’s Nigel talking.” She was of course referencing the lines from XTC’s “Making Plans for Nigel” (another commonly played song):

We’re only making plans for Nigel
We only want what’s best for him
We’re only making plans for Nigel
Nigel just needs that helping hand

Obviously, as she’d worked out, Nigel was sick of people making plans for him. He clearly felt he would be better off if people didn’t and left him to do that himself.

See how dangerous music services can be?

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

