My Wife Drags Me To Endless Shrimp Again

Well, my wife dragged me to Endless Shrimp at Red Lobster again. She really likes that promotion, so I generally indulge her. It’s about the only time we go to Red Lobster anymore. Generally, I prefer going somewhere else (even Joe’s Crab Shack if I’m feeling like chain seafood).

Really, it isn’t that bad. It isn’t wonderful, but it isn’t bad. I’m just never that big on their little shrimp dishes. I’d just prefer all you can eat shrimp cocktail. That would be the healthiest (no cooking in a vat of butter, unnecessary breading or pasta, corn syrup filled glazes, or alfredo sauce) as well as more enjoyable for me.

I know why they don’t do that though. Shrimp cocktail requires a higher quality of shrimp than most of the shrimp dishes. Heck, with breading you don’t even have to go through the expense of removing the digestive tract from the shrimp. All you can eat shrimp cocktail would be expensive.

Though, I still think there’s only so much I could eat. Harvey’s in Council Bluffs (now Harrah’s) used to have a really good seafood buffet. It’s gone downhill quite a bit, but years ago they had immense vats of really good cocktail shrimp. I’d load up a whole plate of the stuff…but would get sick of it after a while. There was definitely a limit.

Course, I’m not everybody. Maybe Red Lobster did the research and figured people could eat enough to bankrupt them. I’m not sure, but I’d just be more enthused about the shrimp event if they did.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

