How Many People Are Rooting For The Cubs Just Because Of “Back To The Future Part II?”

I know there are a lot of Cubs fans. I know there are a lot of people who become fans of any team that starts getting close to the World Series. However, what I’m really wondering is how many people right now are hoping the Cubs win the World Series this year because of Back to the Future Part II.

Seriously. I’m sure Cubs fans are rooting, as always. Bandwagon people too, those who always start to care when any team gets close. But what about people who don’t even care about baseball? Those who just think this would be funny?

I’m betting a lot…me among them.

I mean, it was a great joke in the movie. It was supposed to be surprising, considering by now that the Cubs haven’t won a World Series in about 107 years, haven’t even been there (unless I’m mistaken) since 1945. The idea tickles me, making me care at least a little bit about something I wouldn’t care at all about otherwise.

(The extent of my baseball interest is pretty much a fun day at a ballpark and heavily focuses on ballpark snacks.)

I bet fans of other teams still in the running, heck even those other teams, might be kind of hoping for the Cubs. Sure, I’m certain they still want to win…but some part of them must be tickled by the idea of this joke coming true. It’d be so funny if it really ended up happening.

(No pressure, Cubs.)

Maybe then we’d get our hover boards. Real ones, not the half baked attempts people keep announcing that don’t do have what the ones in the film did. Still waiting on those. (Of course, let us not forget that according to the films time machines existed in 1985. I think the idea of holding anyone to promises made by the film is long since caput.)

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

