Thrilled Someone Makes A Meme Out Of My Comment

I get way too happy when someone decides something I say is funny enough to be included in a meme. I don’t know if it means I’m too old, younger than I think, or something entirely different. Regardless, I really get a kick out of it (thanks, Christie Love).

This comes about because of a post by Jon Konrath. He posts extremely odd pictures from time to time. I think he spends a great deal of time scanning the Internet for these, pictures that really make humanity look completely insane. Pictures you have no idea why anyone would take pictures of, much less post anywhere for Jon to find. They can either entertain, or make you lose your faith in humanity. Often both. These pictures almost seem like still shot examples of the insane individuals described in Jon‘s newest book He (one I highly recommend).

I sometimes try to come up with something even odder to comment when Jon posts these pics. I sometimes do this a lot because I’m trying to be clever. I have to say a whole lot of things in order to say a few things clever, and I never know what’s clever until I see what other people think of it.

Anyway, Jon posted a pic of some dork using a crappy fantasy sword to get peanut butter out of a jar. Seriously, this kid had on a black button-up shirt with flames on it unbuttoned halfway so you could see his pasty chest. The sword had a plastic handle. Plastic! He clearly bought it at a crap shop at some mall. It may be steel, but it’s definitely a toy. Further, he had his tongue stuck out to the side as if getting peanut butter out of a jar with a sword was some highly complex operation. Dude’s a dork.

Still, I wanted to say something even more ridiculous. I commented: “What a neanderthal. That’s the jelly sword.” That’s when someone decided to meme the pic, and decided to use my comment as the caption. There is no way of describing (or explaining, justifying, or whatever) how proud this makes me.

12063601_10206616764569335_3541332902885694856_n

Clearly I’m just as much of a dork as the peanut butter sword kid.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

