I’m Not Buying A Movie For My Cable Box

My wife wanted to watch a movie recently. We’ve finally got a DVR for Comcast and can get some decent stuff on demand. She went looking on there for The Wolf of Wall Street. It was available, but only as a purchase. I’m not buying movies for my cable box.

Seriously? Buy only? I don’t even buy DVDs anymore. I don’t even really watch television. I watch an occasional movie now and again, but there are so many free ones on demand through that I’m not even really very willing to pay to rent one unless it’s something I really want to watch. If it’s not something like Breakfast Club or The Princess Bride I’m not going to watch it more than once. Why the heck would I pay to buy it? Rent maybe, but buy only? I’m willing to watch The Wolf of Wall Street, but I’m hesitant to pay for it. There’s no way I’m willing to buy it without having seen it to determine if I want to watch it more than once. Nothing I’ve seen intrigues me quite that much about it.

And for my cable box? If I was going to buy something, perhaps it’d be DVD. I kind of doubt that any more, given that I haven’t bought DVDs in years. Maybe for a computer system where I’ve got some kind of backup. Maybe iTunes. But my cable box? No. No, I’m not doing that.

Does it just download to my DVR? Do I only get that without any kind of backup? What happens if I run out of room or the DVR dies? Maybe I get some kind of server deal where I can redownload it from Comcast anytime, just in case I need DVR room or switch DVRs. However, what if I ever switch from Comcast? I could move to an area they don’t even service.

Yeah, no. Not buying a movie from Comcast.

Why do they even do buy only? I’m sure it’s got something to do with the rights they could obtain or trying to force people to buy. I’m not doing that though. Not through my cable box, not for that movie.

I’d rather watch something else. There’s too much other crap to choose from for that.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

