Feeling Sorry For The Negative Commenter

I have comments on here set to moderate so I can at least keep an eye on what’s going up. I try to let everything through, particularly with the people who don’t agree with something I say, but I tend to draw the line at people who are simply being a-holes. Since I have to approve it anyway, I just don’t approve comments where people are being nasty without actually adding to any discussion.

That being said, I kind of felt bad for a recent commenter. The comment was that he/she/it couldn’t believe he/she/it wasted X number of minutes reading one of my posts (from years ago) and then Y minutes more reading the comments. Personally, I couldn’t believe he/she/it then wasted the additional Z minutes in typing that comment, because there was no way I was approving that.

I felt sorry for him/her/it, but then I clicked to delete. Gotta give me more than that. This is a cheertatorship, of which I am the cheertator, not a cheerocracy.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

