Paris Reflections: Street Cassoulet

I’m going to continue with my reflections on my recent Paris trip with another street food occurrence that surprised me (and another plug for my friend living abroad in China’s regular YouTube show about street food). Today? Street cassoulet.

My wife and I were walking through the Rue Mouffetard street market. I’m sure you’ve seen the sort of thing before, stalls set up in a square stocking mainly food, fresh fruits and vegetables, and so on. However, one stand had a gigantic pan (about two feet across perhaps) of cooking cassoulet.

Now, cassoulet is a “rich, slow-cooked casserole originating in the south of France, containing meat (typically pork sausages, goose, duck and sometimes mutton), pork skin (couennes) and white beans (haricots blancs).” This is not the sort of thing I thought you could cook in a street stand. I associate it with ovens and long, long cooking times.

This stand was doing it though, all in a gigantic dish. My wife and I would have tried it, but it was early in the morning and we were pretty sure it needed a while yet to cook. There were giant pieces of pork belly in it that looked almost raw. I was betting finished cassoulet was a long time off yet.

I’m kind of a bad street food reporter, aren’t I? Two interesting occurrences now and I didn’t actually eat either of them. Oh well.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

