Paris Reflections: Toilet Seats

Keeping the reflections going…what does Paris have against toilet seats? I know they use them. Most of the toilets I ran into in Paris were fine. However, sometimes they just didn’t seem to feel a seat was necessary.

Seriously, I went into the bathrooms at a Greek restaurant we visited. Perfectly fine toilets, but no seats. They’d been removed. The toilet was there, without a toilet seat. The same thing at a bar/coffee shop we went to. It wasn’t exactly common, but I found it often enough. It was always at restaurants and things like that, particularly the smaller places we went into.

Did they just not buy any? Did they remove them for some reason? Were they commonly stolen and no one felt like replacing them?

I really don’t know.

Personally, it didn’t bug me too much. I’m a guy so I was standing pretty much any time I came across this. I did make sure to warn my wife, but it was still weird. It made me wonder.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

