Paris Reflections: Metro Doors May Not Behave As You Expect

Reflecting more on our recent trip to Paris, I think it is worth mentioning that the doors on the Metro may not behave as you expect. The doors on the light rail in Denver will not close if someone is in them. If you put something in their path when they are already closing, they will spring open. The doors to the Paris Metro do not behave this way.

Now, I know that one is not supposed to try to hold these doors open. I know this. There are signs posted everywhere and announcements regularly request this. However, this is also the case in Denver. People hold the doors there too.

At one point, my wife and I were coming up the stairs to catch one of the Metro lines. My wife says: “We’re going to miss it” because it was about to depart. Thinking she wanted to try to catch it anyway, I ran up ahead of her and got on the car, intending to hold the door for her. She chased after me and I backed up as she was hopping on. The doors, along with a set of safety barricades in front of the doors, closed on her.

They did not immediately open.

In fact, she had to pry them open from within. This required some amount of force. Someone was about to get up to help us, but by that point she already forced them open. My wife is not a weakling.

My wife was ticked at me.

Apparently, my wife had merely been remarking that we were about to miss that particular Metro. She was fine with this, merely stating it aloud. She intended to take the next train, which would doubtlessly be along within ten minutes or so. She did not intend for me to run for the train, causing her to be caught in the door and risking me being lost in Paris if she didn’t.

It wouldn’t have been such a big problem if the Metro doors there behaved like the light rail doors do here. However, they do not.

My wife has not let me forget this particular error as of yet.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

