The Things I Do For My Wife

My wife actually invited me to go along with on her Hawaii trip with a friend. However, I had too much going at work and couldn’t get away, particularly since we just went to Paris last month. However, she got to do a really cool whale watching trip because I wasn’t along. The things I do for her.

It was actually supposed to be a snorkel excursion. They got on the boat and went from snorkeling site to snorkeling site, but the winds kept being too high (I believe upwards of forty knots) and they kept having to look elsewhere. At one point, they spotted some humpback whales. The boat stopped a hundred yards from the whales or whatever safe distance they had to stop when approaching, but three whales came right up and swam around the boat, all over the surface of the water such that everyone could see really well. The people loved it. None of the whales breached right there, but they did see one breach off in the distance.

All cool…and that’s why I did a favor for my wife.

You see, I’ve been on several whale watching tours. Mostly up near the Seattle/Vancouver area, but even one in northern Quebec. I’ve never seen a whale breach. I’ve only seen maybe a fin and a little rolling as they surfaced just a little bit before going deeper. This is because the vast majority of whales I’ve encountered on whale watching tours were minke whales (with the addition of one beluga and one humpback, both off in the significant distance).  Minkes just don’t seem to come up on the surface much, so a whale watching tour seeing only them is kind of piddling. Nothing like the breaching of orcas.

And it happens every time I go. I almost always see whales, but just a tiny bit. I never get to see anything really impressive. If I’d been there, the boat would not have been surrounded by three humpback whales. We never would have gotten close, and would not have seen all that my wife and the others got to see. So you see, my wife only got such a great whale watching experience because I wasn’t there. She even got to snorkel a bit later, luckily since that’s what she actually paid for.

The things I do for her.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

