Where Does My “Happy Easter” Mistaken Holiday Obsession Come From?

I’ve posted enough mistaken holiday “Happy Easter” things by now that you might be wondering where this comes from. I suppose I can waste a day on here elaborating, just in case anyone cares.

Part of it comes form the old Tom and Jerry “Happy Go Ducky” episode. In the episode, an easter egg left for Tom hatches, releasing Quackers. Quackers immediately shouts “Happy Easter!” He shouts this over and over throughout the episode.

Over and over.

Mind you, I’ve probably seen that cartoon about a bazillion times. That “Happy Easter” wedged itself permanently in my brain.

Combine that with a funny story a friend of mine told. Him and his pals were drunk on New Year’s. They wanted to call bars and wish other drunks a happy New Year. One friend got on the phone and called, but he was a bit more inebriated than worked for the plan. He said “Happy Birthday!” One of the others forcefully whispered to him “No, Happy New Year, you idiot!” “Happy New Year, you idiot!” the drunk on the phone corrected himself.

These combined in my head with being overwhelmed on most holidays with all the holiday related posts. The “Happy Easter” thing popped out of that. That’s about the best explanation I have, both for where it came from and why I keep doing it.

Heck, I guess there’s probably just something wrong with me.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

