Do Not Share Embarrassing Pictures Of Yourself That Have An Embarrassing Resemblance To A Celebrity

Don’t share an embarrassing picture of yourself from long ago that has a disturbingly embarrassing resemblance to a celebrity. Particularly do not do this hoping people will say they don’t see the resemblance. They won’t. Worse, they may get confused as to which is the embarrassing picture of you and which is the picture of the celebrity to which your embarrassing picture bears a disturbingly embarrassing resemblance.

This can be hard on the ego.

This happened recently with my post about me in my early twenties and modern day, strung-out looking Macaulay Culkin. The post included both photos, and the best case scenario involved people being spooked by the resemblance. That was not the reaction I was going for. Worse, some people I’ve known for over twenty years got confused as to which photo was which. Some thought both were Macaulay Culkin, some thought both were me. An astonishing number of people didn’t get it right. Many of them were not being facetious.

That was really not the reaction for which I had been hoping, or one I’d even conceived as possible.

So, just don’t do it. You and your ego will be better off. No, I’m not sharing the pictures again. My ego has suffered enough.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

