My 2015 Writing Year

I was just looking back at my 2015 year in writing. It was a heck of a year, for a number of reasons. My short story collection Not Quite so Stories was accepted for publication (upcoming March 2016) by Literary Wanderlust. That automatically makes it a banner year. Some other things were slow though. I only had 7 short stories accepted, one of which didn’t end up getting published after all because the journal ended up folding before it could happen…so really 6. That makes 2015 my slowest short story year since 2010:

“The Inappropriate Name of the Faded Glory Product Line” published September 5, 2015 in issue 21 of of birdy.

“In the Dark” published July 16, 2015 in the Summer 2015 issue of The Lincoln Underground.

Lunchtime Doubly So” published July 1, 2015 in the 38th issue (Vol. 10, No. 2) of Wilderness House Literary Review.

Hollidays Gone Wrong” (no, that isn’t a typo) published March 22, 2015 Bartleby Snopes.

To Kill a Mokkingbird II – Kill Harder by Ahrrper Leeeeee” published February 5, 2015 in Cease, Cows. Thanks to Jon Konrath for letting me use the title and inspiring the story.

The Philosophical Problem of Original Jam” published July 16, 2015 in Apocrypha and Abstractions.

Still, I’d be a rotten person if I complained about 6 (7) acceptances. Also had 6 book reviews appear various places:

My review of Washing the Dead by Michelle Brafman, published October 22, 2015 at [Pank].

My review of After the Gazebo by Jen Knox, published October 6, 2015 at Change Seven Magazine.

My review of Last Mass by Jamie Iredell, published June 25, 2015 at The Lit Pub.

My review of The Devils That Have Come to Stay by Pamela DiFrancesco, published June 18, 2015 at [Pank].

My review of What Lies in Wait by James H. Duncan, published June 15, 2015 in Issue No. 8 of Buffalo Almanack.

My review of Choose Wisely: 35 Women Up To No Good, published April 30, 2015 at InDigest.

Given all that’s gone on this year and all the stuff I’ve spent a lot of time working on that doesn’t have immediate results the way short stories do, I really can’t complain. You just keep writing and stay grateful for all the good stuff. There’s certainly plenty of that, particularly since I’d only ever had two short stories accepted prior to 2011. 2015 was still a heck of a writing year.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

