Readings Attended In 2015

In keeping with all the reading/writing reflections I’ve been on in the last few days, I’ve been looking back at the readings I attended in 2015. In the past few years, I’ve tried to attend at least one reading a month. That fell apart immediately this year given that the one I went to in January was technically happening, but no reading occurred due to a suspected gas leak that resulted in an evacuation taking up the whole time despite turning out to be a false alarm.

January: The Long Journey Cara J. Swanson (we were all there, but the reading didn’t really happen because a suspected gas leak that didn’t turn out to be real resulted in an evacuation that took up the full time)

February: The Sacrifice Joyce Carol Oates

March: The Collector of Names Patrick Hicks

April: Into the Silence America Hart and The Dead Lands Benjamin Percy

May: The Daylight Marriage Heidi Pitlor and Contenders Erika Krouse

June: Frog Kisses Linda Joffe Hull (at the BookBar instead of my usual place for readings, the Tattered Cover)

July: Skipped any formal readings at Tattered Cover, but attended the July Fbomb flash fiction reading event.

August: Secondhand Souls Christopher Moore

September: Best Boy Eli Gottlieb

October: Skipped any formal readings at Tattered Cover, but attended (and read at) the October Fbomb flash fiction reading event and also attended the Don’t Yell at Me Episode 9 reading.

November: Sweetheart Deal Linda Joffe Hull (at the BookBar instead of my usual place for readings, the Tattered Cover) and also tended (and read at) the November Fbomb flash fiction reading event.

December: Got lazy and didn’t go to anything.

(I also managed to attend a number of readings while visiting my old MFA program residencies in January and July, as well as some at AWP in Minneapolis. Somehow I never keep track of all what I manage to hit at those though, so I don’t have info to list for those.)

So, one didn’t happen though I attended, and one month I skipped entirely. There were two months where I did two though, so I think I still met my goal. Right?

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

