Contemplations On The Death Of Glenn Frey

The death of Glenn Frey got me thinking. I saw a lot of commemoration online, but I also saw a lot of people taking the chance to reiterate how much they didn’t like the Eagles. The Big Lebowski certainly popularized hating on the Eagles, and there was some of that, but some people just really didn’t like the Eagles. That’s cool, their tastes and all. I thought the timing was a little in poor taste, but again their tastes are their tastes, even on opinions of a band upon the death of one of the members.

Still, it got me thinking.

I mean, as many people dislike the Eagles, I’ve still always been decently fond of them. I’m not a huge Eagles fan, but I like what I like. Most of what I really dig is on the Hotel California album, “Hotel California” itself mainly for real fandom (love that song), but some appreciation for songs like “New Kid in Town.” I’ll admit, there are many Eagles songs that are catchy but I still find pretty lame. Still, even with that I still like the Eagles. Glenn Frey’s death still has some significance for me.

In fact, I remember going to an Eagles concert in 2004 the same year I went to a Metallica concert. Metallica played a lot of older stuff I was familiar with, but a lot of newer stuff I wasn’t. Regardless how “new” some of the material was, there was a lot I didn’t know…and I was always pretty big into Metallica (previous to Load). Having never considered myself that big of a fan of the Eagles, I was surprised when I contrasted the two shows that I was much more familiar with what the Eagles played than Metallica. I wasn’t always big on the song, but I knew it. Many times there was a song I’d heard a thousand times before and thought: That was the Eagles?

Just a thought I had. Always considering myself more of a metal head and not being that big of an Eagles fan, I still knew more of their show that year than I did Metallica’s. Whatever that means, I’m not going too much in for hating on the Eagles right now.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Contemplations On The Death Of Glenn Frey

  1. Czuch says:

    The Eagles remind me of doing things with my parents as a kid. They are mostly good memories. While I am not an Eagles fan, they were definitely good and wrote a lot of good tunes.

Leave a Reply

