Why Was That Empty Seed Packet Attached To My Bill?

My wife and I went to lunch downtown today. Lunch was good. We ate, and then the bill came. There was an empty radish seed packet attached to the bill with a wooden clothespin. I’m not entirely sure why.

12507391_10207060873652886_7256984249649992203_n

Now, I’m guessing that this was supposed to reinforce their image as a farm-to-table kind of restaurant. Those are big right now, particularly in Denver. Though it’s good to have fresh food, it’s also a little hipster and pretentious. This place was good, but it was definitely hipster and pretentious.

I mean, how else am I supposed to take an empty radish seed packet clothespinned to my bill? It served no function. It was smaller than the receipt, and even lighter, so it didn’t really make the bill easier to keep track of. It wasn’t rigid in any way, made of very light paper, so it wasn’t like I could use it as a rest so I could write on the receipt easier. The only function seemed to be to reinforce their supposed connection to freshly grown food. It was just so out of place, having no functional role beyond pure image. Frankly, it looked kind of trashy.

I will note that I do not recall radishes even being mentioned anywhere on the menu that I saw. They might perhaps have been in a salad somewhere, but I don’t recall seeing that. As far as I know, they didn’t have any radishes. My food certainly had none. My wife’s as well. So, why present an empty seed packet for an item we didn’t eat?

Whatever they were going for, it came off poorly.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

