Me Watching Popular Movies Long After Everyone Else- “Mad Max: Thunder Road”

I don’t watch much tv and I don’t get out to many movies. My wife drags me to one or two a year, sometimes. Some years I don’t go the theater at all. I get kind of behind. However, I sometimes get caught up long after everyone else when something comes on indemand (particularly when it’s free) and I get in stuff long, long after everyone else. Recently? Mad Max: Thunder Road.

Most people either seemed to love it or hate it. Personally, I came down somewhere in between. I still prefer Mad Max Beyond Thunderdome, but I still enjoyed it. The special effects were good and the story wasn’t bad.

Of course, watching at home, I often had trouble hearing the dialogue and then got blasted out by the action sequence sounds. It happens.

Actually, the plot reminded me of Thunderdome a bit. I mean, Max helping people try to get to a utopia that he assures them isn’t out there while being pursued by the miscreants who run some nightmare city. Then he’s right and they have to figure out how to cope. It had its differences, but also similarities.

Still, though I don’t think I’ll be quoting any lines from the movie any time soon and likely won’t remember it much for very long (unlike Thunderdome which caused me to say “Who runs Bartertown?” to some friends of mine as we recently walked by a Masterblaster Plumbing & Drain billboard), I enjoyed it. It was definitely worth a watch.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

