Did Goodreads Giveaways Always Require 7 Days Advance Notice?

Did Goodreads always require 7 days advance notice for giveaways? I’ve listed two giveaways before, and I don’t remember that. Oh, by the way, the Goodreads giveaway for Not Quite so Stories (coming March 1) will be up a litter later than I planned.

I’d always planned to do a giveaway on Goodreads. They’re fun, and they spread the word about a new book well. I thought I’d have it run a month, start it on February 15th and have it run until the Ides of March so I could be sure I’d have the copies I’d need to send out available. Then this weekend got away from me, what with work, Valentine’s Day, and Black Sabbath. I didn’t get to setting it up until this morning…when it told me I could set a start date any earlier than seven days from now.

Really? They say they may need up to two days to approve the giveaway. In the past, I’ve had my giveaways approved within 24 hours. So why five days? Why not let me start it as soon as they approve?

Maybe it was always this way and I don’t remember. Regardless, maybe there’s a good reason. Still, it seems odd to me.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

