I Hate The Cold Contact Dopey Sales Queries Authors Get

I hate the cold contact sales queries authors get. Emails, calls, whatever way they manage to get your contact information, there are so many dumb sales setups out there that needlessly pester authors. There are many good services for authors out there, and I don’t object to cold contacts on principle, though they are annoying. I object in particular to the number of ones so bad that they’re wasting their time and mine.

For example, I got bugged again this morning by someone who had previously contacted me about QR codes (Mukesh Gupta at Scanova). They had previously requested a bunch of my time so they could tell me all about QR codes and how I could use them as an author to expand my readership. The information they provided, both about QR codes and what people could do with them, was horrifyingly basic. It did not inspire any kind of need to talk to them.

Seriously, how many people do they think don’t know what QR codes are? How many people do they think don’t know you can link one to book trailers, purchase pages, or all kinds of other book promotional materials? It isn’t a lack of knowledge but likely budget for getting the QR codes distributed to where someone might scan them that is the issue. As such, their email wasted my time and their demand for a bunch of my time to talk about this was downright ridiculous.

Small press authors have a limited budget for promotion. Anything they can do for me, I can already do on my own. If I’m not doing it, it’s because it doesn’t fit the budget. Adding their cost on top of that goes in the negative direction, making it fit into the budget even less. On top of it, they want my time, the thing I need most of in order to do the promotional activities that do fit into the budget.

So they sent a follow up email because they hadn’t heard back from me, still wanting my time but providing no good reason why I should give it. There were even misspellings in the email. Oh, that really inspires a need to talk to them. Not only can they give me horrifyingly basic information that they think I somehow already don’t know, they aren’t professional on top of it and do slapdash jobs. Yeah, I really want to talk to them.

But, I actually did respond. I sent them this link:

https://www.google.com/patents/US8534540?

dq=matrix+bar+code+ininventor:david+ininventor:atkinson&hl=en&sa=X&ved=0ahUKE

wjFut6d8YvLAhVLOiYKHd0SDR0Q6AEIPTAE

and said: “I think I already know enough about QR codes, thanks.”

Garbage dopey service offers are either going to get no response or a snarky one. They ought to spend their time developing either better services, better ways of presenting themselves, or something. This just did no one any good.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

