Why The Heck Did I Have This Worthless Toy?

Remember the water rockets back in the 80s? I had one…and for the life of me I’m trying to figure out why. This toy was basically worthless. Still, I had it.

I mean, you put a bit of water in the rocket, attached it to the pump, pumped some air inside, and released. It flew, splashing water about. Wheeeeeee!

Yeah, it flew about a foot or two. The splash wasn’t much either. Filling it with water was so much work that you doubtless, like me, stopped doing so and just launched it with air. It wasn’t much worse that way. Even still, each launch was like 95% prep time.

That was way too much work for way too little reward.

Why the heck did I have this thing? Who convinced me this was cool? In retrospect, the work/reward ratio seems way too much like adulthood. I can’t believe I fell for this con. It just seems worthless as crap now.

And now I wish I still had one to mess with again. Stupid brain.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

