Not What I Expect From Whole Foods

I have certain expectations from Whole Foods. I know that most things are going to be more expensive there. There are some things that I don’t think there are a reason for with how they do things, but it’s where people can get items that follow those things. For the most part, I expect higher standards for those higher prices. It’s interesting to see where they don’t sometimes meet those expectations.

For example: lobster cakes. I’m not much for lobster/crab/fish cakes, but my wife likes them. She sometimes got them from the fresh seafood counter at Whole Foods. However, when she went in recently, the person working the counter admitted that the lobster cakes weren’t actually fresh made at the store. They were made elsewhere by a third party and trucked in.

Is that what you expect at a fresh seafood counter? At Whole Foods? That isn’t what I expect. I should mention that these lobster cakes were $21 a pound.

The ingredients were also a surprise. Granted, lobster is the first ingredient. That’s good. However, the second and third are crab and cod. Is that really a “lobster” cake if lobster is only one of three meats (whatever you want to call it) used to make it? What’s the difference between their “lobster” cake and their crab or fish cakes? The addition of a bit of lobster? Flavorings? When someone calls something a lobster cake, I kind of expect it to be lobster, breading, and flavoring. The addition of crab and cod seems iffy to me.

Again, not for most grocery stores. I’d expect that from a lot of places…but not Whole Foods. Not for $21 a pound. Not at the fresh seafood counter.

Of course, there are some other strange things listed: lobster starch mix and crab concentrate. What the heck is a lobster starch mix? They list it has lobster and tapioca starch, but they already listed lobster…so why not just say tapioca starch? What’s going on here that they have to list lobster starch? More importantly, what the heck is crab concentrate (label: crab, salt, code and/or salmon)? Do they distill crabs? Is there some kind of frozen and/or dehydrated crab goo that they later add water to in order to make crab drinks?

Again, there are probably logical explanations here that I’m unaware of. Still, this is what I expect from normal grocery stores and not what I’m paying at a Whole Foods fresh seafood counter. $21? No thanks, not for that. I’ll go to a normal grocery store to get that kind of stuff, and pay less. I’m not springing for Whole Foods unless it really strikes me as a superior quality, fresher product. At least call it a lobster/crab/cod cake instead of trying to make it seem like it has more lobster than it does.

Just my thoughts.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

