LA Metro Could Have Made That Less Confusing

I feel a bit whiny complaining about any kind of travel confusion relating to AWP considering that I have multiple friends who may still not have made it home due to flight cancellations, but I’ll go ahead anyway. LA Metro: you could have made that less confusing.

I decided to get to and from LAX for AWP via the trains. My wife found a site that had really good directions and was comically encouraging about using the trains to go to and from LAX. For the most part, they were right. This was quick and easy for the most part, getting me within a block and a half of my hotel for $2.75 to and $1.75 returning (had to buy a TAP card on the way there). Fast, considering that only the shuttle between LAX and the airport train station went through traffic. The trains themselves were immune to LA traffic. However, there was an issue on the return.

From downtown, I hopped into the nearby 7th street metro station and took the blue line to Willowbrook/Rosa Parks station. There I was to take the green line to the airport station where I’d meet up with the shuttle. I knew I’d taken the green towards Norwalk station on my way in, so I wanted the green toward Redondo Beach on the way back. So, when the blue line arrived at Willowbrook/Rosa Parks, I walked upstairs to catch the right green. One side of the platform was for Norwalk, the other for Redondo Beach. The only problem? No trains were coming on the Redondo Beach side.

Mind you, there were trains coming on the Norwalk side that were labeled “Redondo Beach.” However, I could hear nothing about where they were going announced, so I assumed they were likely mislabeled, or I did not understand the labeling, and they were headed towards Norwalk. Not seeing trains labeled “Norwalk” going that way, it seemed like the safer bet as opposed to going the wrong way. Tons of people were waiting on the Redondo Beach side of the platform so it did not seem an unreasonable assumption. However, no trains came on the Redondo Beach side.

Finally, a young woman who had spent some time on her phone on the Redondo Beach side of the platform walked over to the Norwalk side when another “Redondo Beach” labeled train arrived. I asked her, and she said that both trains were using that side of the platform for some reason. I think she’d been on the phone with LA Metro. However, there were no signs, announcements, or any other indications of the situation. The digital signs displayed nothing or some kind of digital garbage. If it hadn’t been for the young woman telling me, I never would have known.

Some kind of sign or announcement would have helped.

Easy? Simple? For the most part, yes. However, if they want strangers to the city to use the trains to get to and from the airport, LA Metro might want to make an unusual situation regarding changing which part of a platform a train stops at a little clearer. I came close to getting lost…and I had a flight to catch.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

