A Victory For Peanut Butter Bacon Burgers

Some friends and I were going to get lunch during one of the days at AWP 2016 and we weren’t too picky on the place. We all had places to be, so we randomly picked Ford’s Filling Station at the JW Marriott LA because it looked as if there wasn’t too big a line. With 12,000 or so people in the area for AWP 2016, lines could be problematic for getting to afternoon events after lunch. Regardless, we went without really looking at what kind of food they offered. I wanted a burger, which they had. However, they only had a bacon cheeseburger.

Now, as I’ve said before, I adore bacon…but I only want bacon on my burgers if there is also peanut butter. No idea why, but that’s the way it is. Otherwise, I don’t want the bacon on the burger. I’d have it on the side, but not on the burger.

But, they only had a bacon burger. I could simply have them leave the bacon off, but the burger was already $19. I was paying for the bacon either way, and wasn’t just going to junk part of a burger I was already paying $19 for. They didn’t list that they had peanut butter for the burgers, but I decided to ask. Peanut butter was listed in nothing on the menu, but you never know.

As it turns out, they did. They did have peanut butter.

Thus, problem solved. I had them leave off whatever their “secret sauce” was and put on peanut butter instead. This way, I didn’t have to pay for bacon and not get it. I realize I could have had them put the bacon on the side and eat it separately without wasting money, but this was better.

I’m kind of surprised I managed to deal with this given how overwhelmed I was with the conference. To be honest, I was getting a tad brittle by that point.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

