Release Party At Still Cellars: I Was So Confused

As I mentioned earlier, I was part of a Release Party reading Saturday April 23, 2016 at Still Cellars Distillery & Art House in Longmont. Hosted by Steven Dunn, readers included Dana Green, Angela Buck, Steven DunnKhadijah QueenKatie Jean Shinkle, and me. It was a great reading and a stellar lineup, but I did get a bit confused. When I got up there to read, everyone started laughing and I had no idea why.

I was hoping people would laugh once I started reading my story, “The Unknowable Agenda of Ursines” from Not Quite so Stories. However, I was not expecting people to start laughing the moment I got up to the mic. That’s what they did though.

What? Did I do something funny? Had I forgotten to zip up my pants when I went to the bathroom? Had I done something I hadn’t realized? I was very confused. That’s when my wife shouted: Your shirt!

You see, Steven had included the fact that I was a patent attorney in my introduction a moment before. As I walked up, everyone saw that I was wearing my “Trust me I’m a lawyer” shirt. My wife bought that for me because she thought it was funny for me to wear it, actually being an attorney. Apparently everyone else thought so, though it took them a second to let me in on the joke I had unwittingly made. I didn’t even remember what shirt I was wearing at that point. It was funny, but a trifle confusing.

It was all good though. I felt fine once I realized what was going on, and got to reading. Everyone seemed to really dig the story, so it was all cool.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

