Why Do I Like Spray Cheese?

Why do I like spray cheese so much? I don’t think the stuff can even legally really be called cheese (hint: the fact that it doesn’t really need to be refrigerated is a big clue that it only resembles cheese in a vague manner). I love cheese, and will hang out for hours in the Whole Foods cheese section pretending I don’t know what various cheeses are while deciding to the point that I eat an entire meal of free cheese samples and then walk off without buying anything. So why spray cheese then?

Shouldn’t loving actual cheese mean that I’d be horrified by this stuff? I am, but I still love it. I haven’t had it in years, but I still have extremely fond memories of this “food.” Road trips in the car as a kid eating spray cheese on crackers, eating spray cheese straight from the can, all that. Maybe it’s the nostalgia. Maybe it’s just tasty, despite how little it is like anything human beings should eat.

Regardless, I want some now.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why Do I Like Spray Cheese?

  1. Paul Beckman says:

    Reblogged this on PAUL BECKMAN'S Writing & Reading Place and commented:
    David-This started out like one of my stories-(the Whole Foods part). Some snorkelers bring a can of this stuff in the water–the fish love it.

  2. LOL. Most clutch job the shotgun rider on a road trip has: Laying steady lines of cheez-wiz down the full length of pretzel rods, and passing them to the driver as requested. There’s really nothing like it. and hah hah I did think for a minute this was a Paul Beckman story!!!! Thanks for the laugh.

Leave a Reply

