More Morals

I talked yesterday about how I used to crave oatmeal as a kid when I couldn’t have any due to allergies, but because utterly bored with oatmeal (just typed that as “email” and then corrected it, thought you should know) when the allergy went away and I could eat all I wanted. I was thinking more about that, and decided fishing was similar.

Now, I wasn’t allergic to fishing by any means. However, when I was a kid, I was obsessed about the idea of going fishing. I bought a fishing pole, a tackle box, and all that. I even drooled over the ads for the Pocket Fisherman (god only knows why). However, I never went fishing. My parents hated fishing and never wanted to take me.

Now I couldn’t care less about fishing.

Did I finally get the opportunity and fish too much to the point I wasn’t interested any more? Did I lose interest once I could do it? No, I only tried it a couple times that I can remember…and I was utterly bored each time.

The first time, I didn’t catch anything. Just caught my line on some inanimate junk in the water once or twice. I fished from a dock up in Bellingham a couple times and caught the same bullhead over and over before tossing him back. Then I fished one more time where I only caught my line on some inanimate junk in the water once or twice. That’s all the fishing I ever did…and suddenly I wasn’t interested at all in it any more.

I don’t think I outgrew an interest in fishing. I just think I was never really interested in fishing and didn’t understand that until I tried it out and found out what fishing really was.

Some people really dig fishing. I do not.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

