A Garfield Minus Garfield That Doesn’t Work

Many people love Garfield. However, many people hate it. Some even insist that Garfield himself is utterly unnecessary. There is even a strip, Garfield Minus Garfield, that removes Garfield from strips to show how they work just as well, though perhaps a little more strangely (I believe they look at them as existential comics), without Garfield. However, I found one that doesn’t work when Garfield is removed:

garfield_a006en_19g78

Here is the original, courtesy of this site, in Russian (I gave up looking to find it in English after two minutes, since it was such a perfect one for this, so I’ll just reproduce the English text below it):

– Sometimes I sleep so much that I don’t know (if) it’s day now or night.
– Sometimes I eat so much that I don’t know (if) I’m full or still hungry.
– Ignorance is power!

See? Bit of a problem for this one if you remove Garfield. At least, I think so. Maybe some would still argue it works and is still better without.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

