New Dumb WordPress Feature

I know WordPress is free and I shouldn’t complain, but they’ve introduced a new feature that is useless to me and is really annoying me. They’re now sending me a notification every time a post I schedule goes live.

Now, some WordPress notifications are useful. I use them to know when someone comments and I need to respond. That means I kind of need to care when I see a notification. However, when I see the “scheduled post” notification, I don’t care. I’m caring less and less when I see I have a notification because mroe and more frequently it isn’t something I need to know about.

Shouldn’t I already know when a post I schedule goes live? I’m the one who scheduled it! Of course I know! Seriously, I use scheduling almost every day because I write posts when I get time and want them to go live at the same time every day.

That’s can be a ton of useless notifications.

Seriously, I wish just once WordPress would end up introducing a new feature that I noticed and actually liked instead of hated and got annoyed by. Just at least once. I’m sure someone must like these changes, but it really makes me wonder what’s going on over at WordPress development.

It really does.

(Side note: if anyone knows how to turn these notifications off without turning off others, feel free to mention it. There might be, but I don’t feel like using up my time to look when WordPress put this on me without asking if I wanted it. Seems like if it was something that could be turned off then they should have popped something up the first time I signed in after and asked if I wanted it turned on or not rather than just force it on me.)

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

