Restore Dennis Cooper’s Blog and Email

I don’t normally share a lot of petitions because I think the majority of them are pointless, showing people who already know how many people are against them how many people are against them. It’s not as if most of them are unaware, they just don’t care. As such, it’s kind of a fruitless make yourself feel good enterprise in many cases. However, I do think Google needs to know if you are upset about them suddenly (and without any real explanation) shutting off Dennis Cooper’s accounts.

To quote the petition page about this:

On June 27th, 2016, the blog and personal Gmail account of writer and artist Dennis Cooper were deleted by Google for reasons that the company has failed to disclose, beyond a generic reference to a terms of service violation.

Yes, Google is free. Yes, it’s their machines and their decision. However, if they are going to behave as a certain kind of company, people need to realize that and treat them accordingly. This is not the kind of company I thought they were, and I wanted to let them know that. If they wanted to do this sort of thing, I’d think it best to move away from having contact with them. I certainly wouldn’t want to support them.

But, I’d let them know that first. As such, one of the few petitions I’m sharing. If you agree, consider letting them know too. Personally, I think they should at least provide him access to the stored content and explain why. Let him go somewhere else if they don’t want his kind of content on their servers, but provide him the ability to and let us know exactly what it was that bothered them so much.

I want to know what kind of company they are.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

